2016 Caldecott Award Winners: Some of the Best Books for Your Children

The American Library Association recently announced their picks for the top children's books of 2016, including the Caldecott Medal Award winner, and several honorable Caldecott book choices as well.

Winner of the Caldecott Medal For the Most Distinguished American Picture Book For Children:

Finding Winnie

The story of this cute little black bear is actually a true story that inspired the beloved Winnie-the-Pooh.

"In 1914, Harry Colebourn, a veterinarian on his way to tend horses in World War I, followed his heart and rescued a baby bear. He named her Winnie, after his hometown of Winnipeg, and he took the bear to war.
Harry Colebourn's real-life great-granddaughter tells the true story of a remarkable friendship and an even more remarkable journey--from the fields of Canada to a convoy across the ocean to an army base in England...
And finally to the London Zoo, where Winnie made another new friend: a real boy named Christopher Robin."

4 other children's books also received Caldecott Honors:

Trombone Shorty 

Featuring amazing illustrations, Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews shares about how he followed his dream of becoming a musician, despite the odds, until he reached international stardom. Trombone Shorty is a celebration of the rich cultural history of New Orleans and the power of music. Also winner of the Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award.

Waiting (A Caldecott Honor and Geisel Honor Book)

An adorable children's picture book by written by Caldecott Medalist and N.Y. Times best-selling author, Kevin Henkes
"Five friends sit happily on a windowsill, waiting for something amazing to happen. The owl is waiting for the moon. The pig is waiting for the rain. The bear is waiting for the wind. The puppy is waiting for the snow. And the rabbit is just looking out the window because he likes to wait! What will happen? Will patience win in the end? Or someday will the friends stop waiting and do something unexpected?"

Voice Of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer 

Voice of Freedom tells about the remarkable life of Fannie Lou Hamer, a champion of civil rights from the 1950s until her death in 1977. This book is recommended for children in grade 6 and up.

Last Stop On Market Street

Matt De La Pena received many honors for this amazing book, including:

Winner of the 2016 Newbery Medal
A 2016 Caldecott Honor Book
A 2016 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015
A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2015

"Every Sunday after church, CJ and his grandma ride the bus across town. But today, CJ wonders why they don't own a car like his friend Colby. Why doesn’t he have an iPod like the boys on the bus? How come they always have to get off in the dirty part of town? Each question is met with an encouraging answer from grandma, who helps him see the beauty—and fun—in their routine and the world around them."

@2023 HappyHealthyFamilies.com. All Rights Reserved.

@2023 HappyHealthyFamilies.com. All Rights Reserved.